top of page

Club Auto Vashon Island Drive

Updated: Mar 30, 2021

The Club Auto Vashon Island Cruise was the first cruise I've taken part in and it was a lot of fun. Before I write about the cruise though I would like to thank Kristen Wells at LeMay Americas Car Museum for bringing me along

The cruise started out at Griot's garage with weather that left a bit to be desired. The cars however didn't, there was a wide range of cars that showed up from an Acura NSX (pictured above) to a pristine 1990 Mazda Miata and an older Jeep, there was a bit of everything.


Porsche Boxster, Nissan GTR, Porsche 993, BMW, Mazda Miata, Chevrolet Corvette, Dodge Challenger, Avanti

Chevrolet Corvette, Ford Galaxie, Superformance Cobra, Dodge Viper, Ford GT


We ended up leaving a bit late so it was a race to the ferry, you can imagine how difficult it is to race 20+ cars to catch a ferry we were late for. We ended up making it to the ferry, well a little under half of us did, the rest were left behind for a while. Because of this mishap we had to find a meet up spot for the leftovers to meet us at, we ended up at a place called Jensen Point. I'm a firm believer that everything happens for a reason and I think this goes with that, Jensen Point was a beautiful spot for photos and I'm glad we met up here


This made for a great place to get the two supercars together for a photo




















The Ford GT was a beautiful car to see in person, the Ford GT pictured here was vin #10, the first 9 GT's produced were used for internal use. According to the owner, when he was buying the GT he was bidding up against Jay Leno


Eventually the rest of the attendees met up with us, I got a few more pictures and then we were on our way to the Vashon Winery to eat lunch... or so we thought. Well we ended up getting lost on our cruise so instead of going on the rest of the cruise we headed straight for the winery. The lunch that was served was great, and meeting here to sit down and talk to everyone is what's best about these cruises. I'm not very social myself however meeting and talking to people at events like this is easy for me since everyone around you is a car enthusiast just like me. I got to meet a lot of like minded individuals, heard a lot of car stories, told a lot of car stories and made some new friends.


This is what meets and cruises are all about, cars come second (or the cruise), meeting people is the best part. The people you meet at meets or cruises like this one, you will remember forever, some may even become life long friends and some may even give you once in a life time experiences you would never expect. (keep an eye out for my next blog post for a once in a life time experience that I got because of someone I met on the cruise)


While yes a few things didn't go as planned, the mishaps will be things that when the people who went on this cruise get back together will laugh about, the mishaps made the cruise what it was. Thank you again to Kristen Wells who allowed me to come along and also gave me my first ride in a convertible (1965 Mustang). A lot of fun memories were made on this cruise and I can't wait to take part in one again.

Corvette, Jeep, Mustang, Porsche, Porsche, Acura, Mustang, Buick, Cobra, Ford Galaxie



























































Links:

Kristen Wells


LeMay Americas Car Museum


Club Auto


36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page